Breathe and Smile

Breathe & Smile - Find Happiness

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Push and Pull of a Job Search

January 22, 2013 , , , , , , , , ,


By Jim Rettew

Have you experienced the difference between pushing and being pulled in your job search?

When you’re pushing, things are hard and forced.  You may email out a thousand resumes, just hoping that something sticks.  You network, but you’re really not interested in the other person, but only if they can help you.  You apply for things outside your calling, and you figure out ways to fake passion in job interviews.  There is an air of desperation.  It’s a job looking for a job, and the job you’re looking for doesn’t feel  inspiring.  You’re a square peg trying to push yourself into a round hole, and the more desperate you become, the harder you push.  You feel like  Sisyphus in the Greek myth where he continually pushes a rock uphill, only to have it fall back down and start over.

When you’re pulled, there is flow.  People are naturally attacked to you and your story.  It’s as if the universe is working with you.  People and opportunities open just at the right time, and events line up like stars in the night sky.    You feel a passion and affinity for the people, place, and job opportunity, and you don’t have to fake anything.  In fact, it feels like it was meant to be.  You don’t have to overwork or over-engineer getting an interview, or a second interview.  It just happens in a timely manner.  You realize that working harder is not always working better.  You seek out this position because you’re inspired.  It feels like you’re being pulled to it.

What’s you’re experience?  What did it feel like to push?  What was the result?  What did it feel like to be pulled?  How did you know?  What happened?

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Great post! This is exactly what I needed to be reminded of. I’m currently in the process of finding an agent, but I’m experiencing some difficulty. It’s probably because I’m going at it the wrong way. I’m seeking an agent from a position of want, lack and fear instead of believing that I deserve an agent and looking to create a partnership from a place of security, excitement, and positivity. It’s just so hard sometimes. Even if I understand how it works on an intellectual level, sometimes it’s hard to put that knowledge into practice. Doubt gets in the way.

Christine Bissonnette

January 26, 2013

Yes, doubt and fear do get in the way. There is a flow to life that requires patience, but that is very hard for all of us to do. See if this helps…this week, I want you to remember that the universe is working FOR you, not against you. It wants you to succeed. It wants to shine your golden nugget up and show it to the world. Feel things working for you, and look for signs. Also be grateful for what you have. That’s hard for me to do. I actually use a free app to help remind me and record what I’m grateful for on a single. day.

Will you replay back WHEN you get an agent? It’s fine if you don’t. This is not intended to put more pressure on you. You’re still the same good person whether you get an agent or not. However, I think you’ll have good news in the next few months! Let me know…

jimrettew

January 27, 2013

Thank you Jim. I just wanted to tell you that I really appreciate the sincerity of your response. I really feel as though you’ve connected with me, and not just written me a lecture on “how to.” Just this was a good lesson for me in my interactions with others on the web, so thank you.

I will reply back when I get an agent. Thank you for the extra push. What’s the app that you use? I have a gratitude rock, but I always forget about it.

Christine Bissonnette

January 28, 2013

Yes, lectures on ‘how to’ get very old very fast. That’s one of the main reasons I started my blog. On the blog, see the button up top that says, “Why Breathe & Smile” and check out this post too…https://breatheoutandsmile.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/most-happiness-advice-is-unhelpful/.

And reaching out to a new blogger is scary, probably for both of us, but see, it worked out! I just read a great book by Brene Brown where she says ‘what feel to you like vulnerability looks like courage to the rest of us.’ It looked like courage to me.

I use a gratitude app called Gratitude365 because you can incorporate pictures. Now I just have to use it everyday!

jimrettew

January 28, 2013

Your reasons for starting your blog are very similiar to why I started my own. I moved to Vancouver to be an actress a year ago, and felt discouraged when after 6 months of living here I was still stuck at a minimum wage job (hosting and bussing tables at a restaurant) and going into more and more debt every month. I was miserable, and had my breaking point when I burst into tears on the street of Vancouver before knowing that I had to go into work from 11:30-7. I had read a plethora of self-help books, but was feeling only discouragement at the advice, because I was doubtful that I could make the process work for me. I started the blog in March of 2012, and decided to use that template to test out the principles of self-help books to see if they actually worked. By doing this, in just one year, I graduated from a 6 month acting intensive program, started writing articles for the Capilano Courier (a student newspaper), began teaching spin classes as a spin instructor, completed P90X twice, and got a job working as a receptionist at a gym part-time.

I will definitely check out that app. It is definitely scary reaching out, but I can’t even tell you the difference reaching out has made in my life. I feel like an entirely different person from who I was a year ago, and I know that I will just keep growing.

Courage. That’s the key isn’t it?

Christine Bissonnette

January 30, 2013

